Toad in the Hole

toad in the hole

Toad in the hole, for those that don’t know, is basically sausages in Yorkshire pudding batter. No toads involved. No one seems very sure where the name comes from – there is a theory that it originated from a pub game of the same name and while I don’t quite see the link, I hope it’s true. I’d like all my food to be named after pub games.

Ingredients
8 pork/beef or vegetarian sausages (get nice ones, you’ll thank yourself)
2 fresh eggs
125g plain (all-purpose) flour
150ml/5fl oz milk mixed with and 50ml water
1 tbsp mustard (I use dijon)
Salt and pepper
2 tablespoons lard (LARD!), dripping or oil.

The Cooking

To make the batter; whisk together eggs, flour, milk, water and mustard. Whisk it well so that it’s nice and smooth with no lumpy bits and it’s about the thickness of runny custard/cream of mushroom soup/double cream (pick a comparison you like). Season with salt and pepper. Set it aside to rest for at least half an hour. This is so that the flour absorbs the liquid properly and relaxes and the whole thing comes to room temperature.

Now get the oven nice and hot – 220C/450F/Gas mark 7. Put the sausages in the baking tray and stick them in the oven for 5 or 10 minutes without turning them over until the tops are brown. This means that you’ll have one brown side and one pale side.

Take the sausages out of the baking dish and set them aside. Put the lard into the baking tray and put it back in the oven. Wait 5 minutes or so until the fat is really, really hot and sizzling and then quickly remove from the oven and pour in the batter. It’ll sizzle pleasantly. Quickly pop the sausages in the batter, pale side up, and put it straight back into the hot oven.

Leave it for 25-30 minutes. Resist the temptation to open the oven door, the cold influx of air may make the batter collapse. After 25 minutes, it should be all puffed up and golden brown. Serve it immediately with some gravy and maybe some greens like peas or cabbage.

Rawr. Good, tasty food.

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank

17 Responses to “Toad in the Hole”

  1. cheaplikeme Says:

    This looks good! But I’m American and lard is NOT shortening. We have vegetable shortening (hardened vegetable oil), and lard is beef fat — totally different thing.

  2. 101things Says:

    Aha. Thanks for that, I will amend accordingly.

  3. carlamoose004 Says:

    Wow, looking at this makes my arteries clog!! I sure do love sausage though. I may try this when I’m not feeling so health conscious đŸ˜‰

    This is my first time visiting your blog, and let me just say I already bookmarked 4 of your recipes. I’ll be sure to come back for future posts. đŸ™‚

    Carla
    http://chocolatemoosey.blogspot.com

  4. 101things Says:

    Thanks, glad you like it. đŸ™‚

  5. erisiansaint Says:

    Actually, from everything I’ve ever seen, lard isn’t beef fat, it’s pork fat.

    But when I’m making Yorkies, I use bacon drippings.

  6. democritus90 Says:

    What kind of gravy would you suggest serving with it? It looks really tasty but it also looks like it might be a little pastry-heavy without some gravy(besides I love gravy). đŸ™‚

  7. 101things Says:

    I would recommend a nice onion gravy. Gently fry some sliced onions in butter for about 20 minutes until very soft, add about a tablespoon of plain flour, cook for another minute, add some beef stock, stir well and bring up to a simmer for 5 minutes and season to taste.

    You can add other flavourings if you like – some maderia, marsala, red wine, or sherry. Or worcestershire sauce. Some herbs maybe – thyme, rosemary, that sort of thing.

  8. Matt Says:

    Thanks for the guide, used it a week ago and came out really well!

  9. Heterosexual Man Says:

    you are very funny….also can you tell me where this quote comes from…”You’re as straight as a roundabout”?

  10. Keira Says:

    Good recipe but if you cook the sausages in the roasting tin/baking tray or whatever you use for the end part (i used a lasagne tray) then you can use the natural fat from the sausages instead of adding lard. Cook then for 15-20 mins then pour COLD yorkshire mix over the top. You should hear a sizzle. That means the fat is hot enough and the mixture is COLD enough.
    My Nana leaves hers in the fridge until its needed.

  11. erwr Says:

    wow ..jus the sight of it mkes me feel obese..

  12. Aniko Says:

    Toad in the Hole is an awesome dish — Very impressive for friends, and costs a few buck! good bang! I did it for ‘english pub dinner night’… with a cheesy rarebit appetizer,… excellent with lots of english ales!
    nice blog!!!

  13. Rob Says:

    Thank goodness for the recipe! Haven’t had this dish since I was stationed in England 40 yrs ago. I agree with the rarebit and ales addition.

  14. Narumon Says:

    I used to study in England and my landlady cook this dish for me. She comes from York. She put 3 sausages into the pudding and made them look like toad’ foot. When it was cooked, it looked like the toad tried to come out from the hole but it is too hot, so the poor toad died before it could came out. That’s what the name comes from.

  15. Tessa Says:

    Sounds great, a dish I’ve loved since childhood never thought to cook one side of sausages first thou xD but we also wrap our sausages in bacon for a extra tastyness xD

  16. Mummyto2 Says:

    my mum always called it sausgaes in bed when i was little!!:)
    a firm favourite with my lot!

  17. james haughey Says:

    hi there.
    i,m just trying to cook this dish as from your blog. fingers crossed. i,ve tryed this afew times. so we will see.
    thanks again???


Leave a comment