Low-fat Smoked Haddock Chowder

Haddock Chowder

I’ve been making this soup for years. It’s low-fat, filling and incredibly tasty. It’s also a one-pot dish and only takes about 1/2 an hour to make.

Ingredients
Serves 4

175g smoked haddock
1 pint skimmed (lowest fat) milk
400ml vegetable stock (I use Marigold powder)
70g sweetcorn
70g peas (frozen is fine)
100g prawns/shrimp (cooked, pealed)
1 medium/large potato, peeled and cubed
1 small onion, chopped
2 teaspoons cornflour + a little water

The Cooking

Put the fish and milk into a largish pan and bring to a simmer. Poach the fish for about 4/5 minutes until it breaks up easily. Drain the fish, reserving the milk. Break up the fish gently with a fork (don’t mash it).

In the same pan, sweat the onion and potato in a little oil or butter until the onion turns translucent. Add the stock and simmer until the potato is tender (about 10 minutes, maybe less). Now bung in the reserved milk, sweetcorn, peas, prawns and haddock. Bring back up to a simmer.

Mix the cornflour with a little water and add to the soup, stirring it in. In a couple of minutes the soup will thicken.

Serve!

9 Responses to “Low-fat Smoked Haddock Chowder”

  1. Crystal Says:

    I’ve never had a fish soup! This looks pretty good – does it taste fishy? I’ll have to try it sometime. Not sure where I’d get smoked haddock, but I’ll try. Thanks for the recipe.

    -Crystal

  2. 101things Says:

    It does taste like it has fish in it, there’s no denying that.

    The haddock doesn’t have to be smoked, if you find ordinary haddock, that’d be fine too.

  3. septemberfool Says:

    Would you happen to have a recipe similar to that, but with chicken? Much to the dismay of my two cats, I do not much have a palate for fish.

  4. 101things Says:

    I haven’t done it myself, but I’m sure you could substitute chicken for haddock (and ham for prawns) if you like. Rather than poaching the chicken, bake it in the oven, then add the milk at the same time as the stock.

  5. Lynne Says:

    It looks fantastic, it would probably be good with scallops too hey?

  6. recipes « Chef where are you? Says:

    […] Low-fat Smoked Haddock Chowder I’ve been making this soup for years. It’s low-fat, filling and incredibly tasty. It’s also a one-pot dish and only takes about 1/2 an hour to make. […]

  7. Tzippoira Says:

    Could I substitute a non-shellfish for the prawns? Flakes of smoked salmon or trout?

  8. Vicki Hill Says:

    Absolutely delicious. I made a similar soup to this years ago with a good squeeze of lemon in it. It was so good I ate the lot. Your version is more substantial with the sweet corn and peas plus the prawns (none of which my version didn’t have). I plan to make another batch soon.


Leave a Reply

