A Magical Bread Recipe for Novices That Works Every Time

white bread

It’s so satisfying. It’s just a plain white loaf, made by hand. But it works every time and it’s ridiculously simple. If you think you can’t do bread, you can. This will work I PROMISE.

Ingredients
500g white strong bread flour.
7g dried yeast sachet.
1tsp salt
300ml water
3tbsp olive oil. Plus a bit extra.

The Cooking

Mix the flour, yeast and salt together in a large bowl. Pour in the water and the olive oil. Mix with wooden spoon until it’s together enough to take out of the bowl.

Kneed on a floury surface until the dough feels elastic and silky smooth the the touch, and bounces back slightly when prodded. This should take about ten minutes.

Place in a warmish area and leave to rise until doubled in size. This should take about one hour.

Knock back the dough and kneed for a minute or so. Dough will be elastic and bouncy when prodded. Mould the dough into a round-ish shape or put it in a loaf tin. Slather the surface with olive oil (this will give a soft, chewy crust).

Leave to rise for another hour or so on the tray or in the loaf tin which you are going to put it into the oven.

Pre-heat oven to 220/200 fan/gas mark 7. Bake dough for 25 – 30 minutes until a nice golden colour.

Leave to cool on a wire rack.

Ta dah! Seriously, try this recipe. Your friends will be astonished at your baking prowess.

37 Responses to “A Magical Bread Recipe for Novices That Works Every Time”

  1. Janie Lee Says:

    I would love to make the “Magical Bread Recipe”, can you convert the measurements to ounces, cups, etc.,
    measures used in the United States.

    Thanks so much.

    Janie

  2. Alex Says:

    500g is about 1lb. 7g of dried yeast is about 1tsp. and 300mL of water is about 1/2 pint.

    Google will do conversions for you: just use convert as the first word of your search.

    For example: “convert 500g to ounces” gives
    500 grams = 17.636981 ounces

  3. Kate Says:

    The bread photo is making my mouth water. I adore homemade bread – I may have to try this one as my next loaf experiment with half wheat and half unbleached bread flour. Lovely.

    All conversions below are approximate.
    500g = 5 cups flour
    7g = 1 teaspoon dry yeast
    300ml = 1 1/3 cups (10 oz) water

    *From the Cooking Calculators and Conversions section of Online Conversion.com.

  4. Snorre Milde Says:

    Quite a leap from roast squirrel. Keep posting!๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Laya Says:

    Is there any way to do this with whole wheat flour? I’m trying to reduce my intake of white flour.

  6. 101things Says:

    Hi Laya. You could make this with half white flour and half whole wheat flour, that would work no problem. I can’t confidently say it would work with 100% whole wheat flour though. Perhaps I will do a wholemeal bread recipe soon…

  7. Relax Max Says:

    I’m not sure I could really make bread. I love to eat it though! – and I love your pic. (Not so convinced about the squirrel though..)๐Ÿ™‚

  8. 101things Says:

    You can, Max, you can! Try it!

  9. Matin Says:

    I am a bit scared of bread making but you made it look very easy:-) I will try sometimes.
    X M

  10. Vince Says:

    What is “strong” bread flour?

    • Paulina Says:

      It has 10% or more of protein which is gluten – gives bread it’s elasticity. If you use cake flour you will get cakey bread.

  11. Paper Shredders Says:

    The bread photo is making my mouth water and I adore homemade bread

  12. Ty Says:

    it split at the side,what happened?

  13. 101things Says:

    Oh, that’s a shame. Split in what way?

  14. 101things Says:

    Vince – “strong” bread flour is flour with extra gluten added. You can use ordinary bread flour/plain flour if you can’t get hold of the strong version.

  15. Jon Says:

    Hi, just made a loaf, thanks so much for the recipe, so easy to do and tastes great!

  16. joe Says:

    it would be better if u put it in a video

  17. joe Says:

    and thinks an way it is good

  18. Elan Says:

    I notice in your recipe you do not say warm water… Do you not use warm water?

  19. Cooking Says:

    It looks much better than the squirrel. Keep up the great suggestions. I love your blog.

  20. 2heelersinmykitchen Says:

    AHA!
    this helps me!

    Oven Temperature Equivalents
    Fahrenheit Celsius Gas Setting
    300 degreesF 150 degreesC Gas Mark 2
    325 degreesF 160 degreesC Gas Mark3
    350 degreesF 180 degreesC Gas Mark 4
    375 degreesF 190 degreesC Gas Mark 5
    400 degreesF 200 degreesC Gas Mark 6
    425 degreesF 220 degreesC Gas Mark 7
    450 degreesF 230 degreesC Gas Mark 8

  21. Samantha Says:

    It worked! Mine turned out great.
    The conversions I used were:
    500g flour = 4 cups
    7g yeast = 2.25 tsp
    300ml water = 1 1/3 cup
    Also, it helps A LOT if you spoon the flower into a dry measuring cup and then level it off.
    I didn’t have a loaf pan, but when I make it again I’m definitely getting one.

  22. Samantha Says:

    haha I meant flour, not flower.
    And I baked it at 425F for 26 minutes

  23. Tuppence Says:

    Getting simple bread baking is tough. It’s something my mum tried when I was a kid and ended up creating rocks of dough for us to take into school to impress our friends. I wish she’d had this recipe back then.

  24. Juli Says:

    Oops. I accidentally baked it at 200 degrees Farenheit…
    It took about twice as long but it tastes good!

  25. Sarah@buttered-up.com Says:

    I’m definitely bookmarking this. I haven’t made much bread but any recipe that has a promise attached to it is definitely on my list. It looks wonderful.

  26. Rodies Says:

    I have been looking forward to making this sandwich all week and just had it for dinner. Sweet Lord. It is perfect.

  27. eb Says:

    your post is impressive, just bookmarked and share with my friends on facebook. Hope to seeing more updates from you

  28. Swingline Shredder Says:

    Thank you for another fantastic article. Where else could anybody get that type of information in such a perfect way of writing? I have a presentation next week, and I’m on the look for such info.

  29. Haier Water Dispensers Says:

    Thank you for another essential article. Where else could anyone get that kind of information in such a complete way of writing? I have a presentation incoming week, and I was on the lookout for such information.

  30. Bissel Says:

    do you got any fb fanpage or twitte? really wanna listen more from you!

  31. Kalorik Says:

    thanks for the recipe, i will follow it plus adding raisins, it must be delicious

  32. Fire Says:

    it looks yummy, i will make one in xmas, thanks for the recipe, i love it

  33. zip Says:

    i have got a good suggestion to make my son has mad a yogurt loaf at school and it tasted great just add a tub of yogart to all ingredients when you put in tin when its done it should have a hint of that flavour

  34. Phil Says:

    Absolutely fantastic recipe………..works every time. I’m making 2 loaves as I type this message. Just waiting for the mix to prove. I’ve always enjoyed making bread and, this is the best and most idiot proof recipe I have ever seen.
    Try it……..you know it makes sense.

  35. Ria Says:

    Mine is in the oven right now and it smells great! This is a brilliant blog, so many fantastic ideas! Thank you๐Ÿ™‚

    xx


Leave a Reply

