Chocolate Muffins

chocolate muffins

Would you believe that in all of the cookbooks I own I could not find one single recipe for chocolate muffins? Not even in my “Muffins and cakes” book. Baffling. But I have made chocolate muffins before and was not deterred, turning to t’internet for a recipe.

It took me 15 MINUTES of internet searching before I found a recipe I felt I could trust (that is, one from a site that doesn’t use Comic Sans or flashing gifs). Fifteen of your Enghlish minutes! That’s the equivalent of, like, a DAY’S non-internet research.

Anyway, this recipe came from the UKTV Food site (re-written my way) and went down well with Mr B and his workmates. I was most saintly and only had one small one.

Ingredients (Makes 20 Muffins)

250g Butter
190g caster sugar
4-5 eggs (I used 4)
250g self raising flour
20g Baking powder
60ml Milk
100g chocolate chips
150g drinking chocolate

Muffin cases and a muffin tray.

The Cooking

In a mixing bowl, mix together the butter and sugar with a wooden spoon until fluffy. Crack in the eggs, one at a time, mixing well with each addition, and whisk together for 5 minutes. Don’t be scared if it goes sloppy and looks like it’s fallen apart, just keep mixing and it’ll come together.

Sift in the flour and baking powder to the butter mixture and fold together until well-blended. Try not to beat it to death, the aim is to keep it light and fluffy.

Add in the milk and the drinking chocolate and mix for 1 minute. Fold in the chocolate chips. Once mixed, try not to eat it all off the spon right there and then.

Preheat the oven to 200°C/390F. Line muffin trays with paper cases, making 20 muffin cases in all. I only have one tray with space for twelve muffins, so I did it in two batches.

Drop a large tablespoon (or two, depending on what size you want them) of the muffin mixture in each case, trying not to get it all over the tray like I did. Bake the muffins for 15-20 minutes until cooked through and risen. They will crack a bit on the top, which is a good thing. You know what muffins look like. Leave them to cool in the tray to begin with because they’re quite soft when they first come out of the oven and you don’t want to squash them. After five minutes, lift them out and feed to whoever you love best.

41 Responses to “Chocolate Muffins”

  1. Mr B Says:

    I ate them they were nice.

  2. septemberfool Says:

    What exactly is “drinking chocolate”? Is it the kind of cocoa powder you put into milk to make chocolate milk? Also, I’m guessing that putting everything into grams is similar to it’s volume in a cup measure (eg: 250 g flour = 1 cup flour). I myself am not a big baker, but the recipe does look tempting.

  3. 101things Says:

    Drinking chocolate is just cocoa powder. I’ve had a few people ask me that – I think I’ll change the recipe to save confusion.

    I have put a link over on the right to a measurement converter for my non-UK friends🙂

  4. septemberfool Says:

    I do use the Metric system (Canadian and all), I’m just not used to seeing metric measures as grams/weight instead of cups/volume.

  5. verniciousknids Says:

    They look yummy😀

  6. Kathleen Says:

    I have tried this recipe and it’s great. Kids love them there is only one problem you have to make lots of them as the children and adults keep coming back for more.
    P.S
    Drinking chocolate is sweet and it is nicer than cocoa.
    I also use the drinking chocolate to dust my chocolate buns when i ice them just to give them a rich look.

  7. - Says:

    i loved it and it was very delicious

  8. Gretel Jones Says:

    I loved your recipe for chocolate muffins.Most recipies that I have seen uses cups as a form of measurement.I’m not too sure how big or small the cup should be!
    very reluctant to share them with anyone!

  9. judywigin2008 Says:

    September fool. Yeah I’m talkin 2 u, drinking chocolate is not like coco powder ok.

  10. judywigin2008 Says:

    My son wrote the comment above. I didn’t expect him to be so ascerbic. I have to to agree with him though. Cocoa powder and drinking chocolate are completely different from each other. Both are delicious in their own way.

  11. babyiee shorty/paki girl 2008 Says:

    thanx helped me wid ma homework

  12. deirdre Says:

    i liked the easy recipe and used low fat milk and butter to be able to make them more often. first recipe i found that didnt include oil. perfect for kids to bake and eat!!!!!!!!

  13. Laura Says:

    Tried the recipe, absaloutely delicious😀 found the amount of butter plus cocoa powder a bit much =\

    thanks for the recipe

  14. me Says:

    it was nice was anxious at first and afterwood they were nice but i halfed your recipe and made ten and i reccomend to anyone fill it up and get nice big muffin😀 i got a few small ones😦

  15. me Says:

    Hi , had to make them a second time :O i ran out ppl liked them , so this time i have put cooking chocolate on the top of the muffins 5 mins before finishing time and im waiting to see if my idea worked(Y), yer well it was okay some of it was a bit burnt :S so leave it less time in there hmmm. Oh well win some lose some im 14 i have plenty more oppurtunities:)

  16. Muffin Man Says:

    these muffins rule best muffins ever always in the mood!!!
    all in all GREAT muffins and thats coming from Muffin Man!

  17. mr S.A.S.:) Says:

    THE BEST MUFFINS EVER.

    I tasted them on 7 th aug and I thought they were the best ones i`ve ever tasted + normaly im not a fan about muffins but i thought they were the BEST and mark my words! THERE THE BEST!

    :):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):)

  18. MR CW Says:

    THE BEST MUFFINS EVER.

    I tasted them on 7 th aug and I thought they were the best ones i`ve ever tasted + normaly im not a fan about muffins but i thought they were the BEST and mark my words! THERE THE BEST!

    :):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):)

  19. FORGET Says:

    for get about mr S.A.S. by accident i did it twice:)

  20. janice Says:

    i love eating muffins so i thought ill have a go makin it hope they turn out nice. iv been serchin the internet for ages on how to make them. at last iv found a we

  21. Anonymous Says:

    at last iv found a website

  22. muffin girl Says:

    thanx for helping me with my homework!!!!!!!!!

  23. muffin girl Says:

    i didnt try them.but i will trust meeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! hahahahahahahahahahahaha

  24. Anonymous Says:

    ugly

  25. Anonymous Says:

    jus jokin i luv muffin they are delious mmmmmmmmmmm

  26. Thamima yazmin Says:

    I CAN’T WAIT TO MAKE EM

  27. chloe Says:

    I CANT BELIVE SOME PPL ARE JUS IDIOTS THEY ‘AVENT EVEN TRIED IT WEIRDOSE

  28. sarah trashy Says:

    Hurrah for you! I have decided to make muffins for a certain young man’s birthday as his party is the following week and have looked everywhere for a chocolate muffin recipe. I had a lightbulb moment in the night that OF COURSE you would have one. So glad to be proved right🙂

  29. AwEsOmE! Says:

    Omggggg TYYYTYTYTYTTY PS: i LOVe the Muffins me and my family made it thnxx alot!!!

  30. Nick Says:

    This sounds crazy good, I will have to give it a try.

  31. Ballerina Says:

    I soo want to make them now!

  32. Ballerina Says:

    I made them today. They were a bit dry but tasty.

  33. Jane Says:

    Hi if i would want to make maybe half the amount of the muffins do i divide half of the amount for the ingredients? as 20 muffins is way too much for my family.

  34. :) Says:

    🙂 im gonna make these soon😀

  35. Jen Says:

    You are right its not easy to find a recipe for chocolate muffins – so thank you for finding this one.

  36. alex Says:

    these are the best I love these❤

  37. alex Says:

    😀 I’m making more for my friends


Leave a Reply

