Roast Carrots

roast carrots

People don’t roast carrots enough. And by “people”, I mean me. It’s so simple. Quarter the carrots, put on a baking tray, drizzle with olive oil, sprinkle with salt and roast in a hot oven for 45 mins or so, shaking to move them about every now and again. They’re so sweet and sticky with their own sugar you could almost eat them for dessert.

If you want to add some herbs, thyme is particularly good. Just scatter it among the carrots.

23 Responses to “Roast Carrots”

  1. Jessica Says:

    I *hate* raw carrots with a burning passion, and hate boiled/steamed carrots almost as much. The other week I had a bunch of veggies that were on their way out- broccoli, corn, zucchini, yellow squash, boiling onions, carrots. I roasted them with some olive oil… in the last 10min, i added salt, pepper, and marjoram… now i am addicted! and i have a new appreciation for carrots🙂

  2. John Says:

    Very nice, thanks.

    Have to try this now.

  3. Drood Says:

    I’ll be doing the Christmas dinner… I already roast potatoes and parsnips… I don’t especially like carrots as they’re kind of bland… So I said to my wife “I might try roasting them”, and found this recipe.

    Looking forward to it. I love roasting stuff:)

    Thanks for the instructions.

  4. bob brazil Says:

    I’m gonna try it

  5. bob brazil Says:

    I love roasting potatoes and chickens. they’re TASTY!

  6. Mr Suds Says:

    Simply Delicious!

  7. mark Says:

    just roased some carrots and you are right they were delisious
    thanks

  8. Anthony Says:

    My kids can’t get enough of them.

  9. Ron Says:

    We have been making carrots this way for several years. Quite often we make them for company. We have had several people who said they did not like carrots simply rave about them. Often, we mix them with cubed potatoes and string beans on the same pan. The string beans do not take as long. It is a nice mixture. Sweet potatoes are also great this way.

  10. Jay Says:

    Roasting carrots is by far the best way to eat them. I place olive oil, honey and ground cummin in a bowl with a lid. Place the cut carrots in bowl and shake to coat then just tip them onto the baking tray and into the oven. YUMMY!

  11. pat Says:

    Did I miss where you said what temperature to roast them at? “Hot oven”??

  12. Luke Says:

    180/350 works just fine!

  13. Anonymous Says:

    nice one that’s waht i was looking for . thanks

  14. jennifer Says:

    Try mixing some parsnips in there too -very tasty!

  15. Erin Raatjes Says:

    I’m going to make these tonight!! Bake some chicken and potatoes too. Yum.

  16. anonymous Says:

    so 180 degrees celcius?? ok cool will make them with chicken breast and suadsges

  17. max cleavage discount code Says:

    Thanks was just looking for this recepie

  18. Mad Max Says:

    I just chuck carrots in with my roasts sometimes for about 50 mins and they turn out beaut.

  19. Cleo Says:

    Do you peel the carrots first?

  20. The Owl Says:

    I find they need to be boiled first (I.e. cooked) to get them the very best. They can otherwise be a bit crunchy if they’re cooked only for an hour (about the cooking time of a chicken).

  21. David Says:

    OMG CARROTS ARE SOO SWEET WHEN ROASTED


Leave a Reply

