Chicken Korma

chicken korma, dhal and rice

Recipe here. Of course I bought the almonds and coriander to garnish. I’m a sucker for unnecesary food purchases.

I succummbed to my perennial failing – timing. The chicken was done well before the dhal and rice. BUT. It was, in the words of Mr B, “very good”. And coming from him, this is high praise. The recipe worked well, and the dhal was better than normal. For next time, start the rice and dhal at the same time the chicken goes in the pan.

dhal

Look at that. Steaming, bubbling turmeric lentils. I used Maldon sea salt to season, which always adds an edge.

And the finished dish:

chicken korma with dhal and rice

It’s not a great picture because pretty food isn’t my speciality, especially when it comes to Indian food. The creme fraiche was almost lemony in its tang. I’ll certainly make this again.

2 Responses to “Chicken Korma”

  1. verniciousknids Says:

    This looks yummy! I love the steam coming off the chicken in the frypan.

  2. 101 Things Every Cook Should Cook » Blog Archive » Lamb Rogan Josh Says:

    […] Not the greatest picture I’m afraid. Served with brown basmati rice (low-GI don’tcha know) and dhal (dhal recipe here). The rogan josh was spicey and slightly sweet and the lamb was tender and the whole thing was full of flavour. Mr B and I enjoyed it very much, especially since I had the satisfaction of knowing I created a proper curry from scratch. Posted by 101things Filed in Uncategorized […]


Leave a Reply

