Mayonnaise

mayonnaise

This was my second attempt at home-made mayonnaise. The first time I tried, I made it with olive oil and frankly, it tasted like oily ass. I threw it away. This time I made it with groundnut oil, which is flavourless.

Ingredients (makes 300ml)

2 egg yolks
1tsp dijon mustard
1 tsp white wine vinegar
250ml oil
2tsp lemon juice
Salt and white pepper (I left out the pepper because all I have is black pepper and I didn’t want the mayonnaise to be all speckly)

Cooking

Put the egg yolks, mustard and vinegar in a mixing bowl. Add a pinch of salt and pepper. Handy tip – steady bowl on a dampened tea towel so it doesn’t slide about.

Add the oil, drop by drop to begin with, then in a steady thin stream, whisking all the time. When all the oil has been incorporated and the mayonnaise is thick, stir in the lemon juice. Marvel at how clever you are.

One Response to “Mayonnaise”

  1. guri Says:

    what is dijon mustard???


Leave a Reply

