Creamed Leeks

This is an extremely simple side dish which is a bit more interesting than the usual peas/carrots/potato combo we always seem to end up with in our house. You can even do it low-fat by using spray olive oil instead of butter and low-fat crème fraiche instead of cream. I prefer crème fraiche anyway, it’s more tangy.

Ingredients
Serves 3 or 4

1 leek.
3 tablespoons double cream/crème fraiche (low-fat if you like, it works just as well)
A knob of butter
Salt and pepper to taste

The Cooking

Slice the leek fairly finely (ie, not great big chunks). Someone asked me recently whether it’s okay to eat the green bits on leeks and I reckon they’re fine to eat right up into it separates into leaves. Wash the leek carefully because there’s often mud inside them.

Melt the knob of butter in a small frying pan (or a couple of sprays of olive oil if you’re being low-fat) on a medium heat. When it’s melted, chuck in the leaks and soften for about three minutes. Now add the cream/crème fraiche and let it bubble for a couple of minutes until it’s thickened a bit. Have a taste and add salt and pepper as you think it needs it. That’s it! Serve it up. Well easy!

14 Responses to “Creamed Leeks”

  1. Vince Says:

    Yumm! It’s like vichyssoise without pureeing or potatoes. Looks delish!

  2. Quentin Says:

    I tried this this evening with pork chops and mashed potatoes. Very nice indeed, but I wonder how big your leeks are – I was only cooking for myself and ‘1 leek’ provided only a large portion for myself.

  3. :/ Says:

    zzzzzzzzzzzz…. vichyssoise is a cold dish and liek you said potatoes… so not like vichyssoise at all

  4. Ed Says:

    I just cut the last inch off each end and add 1/2 cup cream for each leek. Just a hint of nutmeg(1/4 pinch) or a splash of port or sherry works well. I also julienne into 4 to 6 inch long strips.

  5. Halloween Says:

    Looks great! I’m gonna cook this dish tonight, hope my girlfriend will like it. Thanks for the recipe!

  6. justin Says:

    These things look gorgeous and I am sure are delicious. I’m bookmarking these to try this weekend.

  7. LeekLover Says:

    Mmmm! I love creamed leeks! So much so, I’d be doing more than 1 leek for 3-4 people, once cooked down thats probably only about a tablespoon per person.

  8. Pat Says:

    can thees be made a day or 2 before hand? Can this be frozen

  9. Jacqueline Ireland Says:

    Of course you can eat the green bits of leeks!

  10. Louise Says:

    I cook the leeks for much longer than 3 minutes. Better to let them sweat gently in the butter on the lowest setting until soft, they will release their tasty juices. I agree that at least one leek per person is required for a decent-sized serving, as it’s so delicious people will want more. I too add nutmeg, and sometimes a little paprika.

  11. auto parts warehouse Says:

    I am not certain where you are getting your info, however
    good topic. I needs to spend some time learning much more
    or figuring out more. Thank you for great information I was
    in search of this information for my mission.

  12. Competition bbq Secrets Book Says:

    Some fish need scaling, and some need to have the skin removed before cooking.
    Second, don’t think that you’ll be able to fire up your new smoker and toss on
    your meat moments later right after bringing it home. In order to keep fish from sticking to a fish basket, you can line the basket with slices of lemon,
    or oil the basket as you would the grate prior to grilling.

  13. How To Make Someone Fall In Love With You Book Says:

    Sell the apple notebook that you shared together,
    because most people spend so much time on their computers that it is a constant reminder of the relationship they used to
    have. If your telling me my wife fell out of love with me, then the
    sad truth is that you simply haven’t been doing the things to make her stay in love
    with you. These things can help in making a man fall in love
    with you.

  14. Rileigh Says:

    I’m quite pleased with the infmioatron in this one. TY!


Leave a Reply

