How to blanche tomatoes

To blanche tomatoes, you immerse them in boiling (or just-boiled) water for a short period (only about 15 seconds) and then immediately pop them into some cold water to stop the tomatoes cooking any further. You can then peel off the skin much easier.

13 Responses to “How to blanche tomatoes”

  1. Karin Says:

    Hallo from Sweden! Interesting site you have got. I came here when I was Google-searching.
    Friday I posted a blogpost showing a Swedish recipe and a photo of very popular Swedish “cookies” called “Dumlekakor”. The thing is, I didn´t actually know what to call them in English. Well, I´ve got one suggestion: “Dumlepies”. Perhaps that is a correct name. I really don´t know. I am not satisfied with “Dumle Cookies”.

  2. Peter May Says:

    Unless you’re going to use the skinned tomatoes raw, why does it matter that they cook in the hot water? I peel tomatoes to use the slesh in pasta sauces which I’m going to cook anyway.

    • Roger Landa Says:

      Maybe you don’t like eating the seeds and it will be easy to remove those pesky seeds when the meaty part of it remains firm.

  3. waspstar Says:

    I use this method too for peeling tomatoes, but I also put a small cross in the base first, it makes peeling them much easier, just lift the corners and peel away.

  4. Madeline Says:

    I blanche & then freeze the tomatoes, keeping them for lator on when I want to make a vegetable soup, or maybe a pasta dish. The fresh taste makes the meal really delicious.

  5. Colin Says:

    Freeze them in gallon bags. When ready to use set out in sun to thaw. Peeling comes right off…no need to boil!

  6. Jay Ritter Says:

    Stupid Swedes. No wonder you got owned by they Germans. You’re F’ing idiots

  7. Bill Says:

    Jay They say there’s always one in the bunch. Well your him!

  8. Butter Chicken. The most fun I have in the kitchen. « Cooks & Runs Says:

    […] masala – 1tsp3 tbsp oil (I use olive)3 onions – diced small3 tomatoes – blanched, peeled and roughly dicedTomato puree – 2 tbspSugar – 1tspVinegar – 1tspKasuri […]

  9. Vegan Tomato Bisque with Grilled Corn and Pasilla Peppers | 10th Kitchen Says:

    […] 1 1/2 tablespoons cumin 1 tablespoon chili powder 1 teaspoon oregano About 2 lbs fresh tomatoes, blanched and peeled 1 quart low-sodium vegetarian broth  1 cup unsweetened almond milk Salt and freshly ground black […]

  10. vacances pays basque Says:

    I’m really loving the theme/design of your weblog.
    Do you ever run into any browser compatibility problems?
    A few of my blog visitors have complained about my blog not working
    correctly in Explorer but looks great in Firefox. Do you have any ideas to help fix this problem?


Leave a comment