Raised Veal and Ham Pie

Pie

I am totally proud of this pie. Look at it! Pie! Pie of meat!

I won’t lie to you – you’re not going to knock this up in half an hour. It takes a little patience, but it’s totally worth it. And the pastry, which is the thing that scares most people off, is really very easy. Hot water crust pastry is the easiest pastry I’ve ever worked with – it rolls out smoothly and has the texture of playdough. No worries.

You could use other fillings – chicken, ham, pork, game, beef. Whatever you like.

Ingredients

For the pastry:
40g/1 1/4oz butter
40g/1 1/4oz lard
85ml/3 fl oz water
225g/8 oz plain flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 egg, beaten

You will need a bowl or something with a diameter of about 15cm/6in. As you can see below, I don’t have an appropriately sized bowl (I never do) so I use a saucepan. But a bowl or dish would be better.

You will also need some greaseproof paper and some clingfilm (saran wrap).

For the filling:
450g diced veal
150g ham
3 tablespoons very finely chopped onion
2 tablespoons chopped parsley
Salt and pepper

150g/1/4 pint Aspic, if using (see the bottom of the recipe)

The Cooking

First, you need to make the pastry. Cut the butter and lard into small pieces put them with the water into a saucepan and bring it to the boil. Meanwhile, sift the flour and salt into a large bowl and make a well in the centre. Put the beaten egg into the well and cover the egg with the flour (but don’t mix it all together).

Pour the boiling water and fat around the edge of the bowl and then quickly stir everything together and a table knife. You need to kind of cut it all together, if that makes sense. It will come together quickly and once it’s cool enough knead the pastry together gently until it’s not streaky any more. Once this is done, wrap the ball of pastry in clingfilm and pop it in the fridge to rest and cool down for half an hour. Go and have a cup of tea.

Now get your 15cm diameter bowl (or, if you’re me, saucepan) and wrap the [i]outside[/i] of it with clingfilm.

9 Responses to “Raised Veal and Ham Pie”

  1. smilespray Says:

    Happy new year! I’m sure I’m not alone in hoping to see more recipes from you. How is the work for the newspaper going?

  2. persephone113 Says:

    That is beautiful, lovely crust. But I cannot help but point out that it reminds me of the meat pies in Sweeney Todd! Is this the way typical English meat pies look?

  3. smilespray Says:

    Yup. But usually they’re not made with Soylent Green.

  4. 101things Says:

    I’m sorry smilespray, I’m a baaaad blogger. Does it help if I told you I wrote the complete recipe for this pie two days ago… and then wordpress ate it. Seriously.

  5. tvassegh Says:

    Can’t wait to try – love veal. Read this blog: Serious Eats: Veal: Gateway Meat for Omnivores. “Authentic” old world veal – calves suckle on mothers. I thought all natural veal raised this way. No?

  6. James Walsh Says:

    I have been meaning to make veal and ham pie for quite a while but I used to make it in a deep dish. It is a very interesting dish to make and of course completely unknown in the US. I really like it. I just have to find the veal. A great dish with a salad and a glass of full bodied beer.

  7. BAW Says:

    Butter AND lard? I can feel my arteries hardening as I read this.

  8. Lani Says:

    Where is the rest of the instructions? what do you do with the crust?


Leave a Reply

