A good saturday.

I love living in London.

Yesterday I started off at Borough Market, where I had a breakfast of cheese on toast from the Neals Yard Dairy stall (which is absolutely AMAZING. It’s mature cheddar cheese, sourdough bread, and an onion and leak mixture, toasted. Honestly, I can’t even tell you how good it is. Words don’t do it justice.) I also bought a jar of snails in tuffle butter sauce from the French fancy-stuff stall. I love Borough Market so much I actually *skipped* down the road. People saw me, I don’t care. Borough market just makes me happy.

Then I had a wander down to The Clink Prison Museum. Which was rubbish, but at £3 for 20 minutes amusement at disturbing papier mache models and badly spelled instructive signs aimed at school parties asking “How do you think these punishments would be carried out nowadays?” and “How would you feel if you were in the stocks having rocks thrown at you?”, well worth it.

I walked along the south bank of the Thames and popped into the Tate Modern. I would’ve stayed there longer but my feet were killing me, so I pottered around an exhibition about modern cities which was more interesting than I thought it was going to be.

Up to the Strand, on to Trafalgar Square, Picadilly Circus and round to Leicester Square. A pint and a read of my book and off home again. A good day all round.

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank

2 Responses to “A good saturday.”

  1. Erika Says:

    Hi,
    I have just found your blog, and was about to leave a note on your curry recipe when I saw the words ‘Borough Market’…. I understand and share your enthusiasm, used to live at London Bridge and every Saturday without fail I was down their like a kid to a candy. It is true a wonderful place where you can spend hours and £££££
    Erika

  2. 101things Says:

    I live way over the other side of London and still go at least once a month. I think it may be my favourite place on earth. I’ve learned to budget myself though – take £10 and spend no more than that. Otherwise I could go crazy with the cheese and the oysters and the glavin.


Leave a Reply

