Britain’s Best Dish

So I got through the audition to the next round. Hurrah for me! I had to wait all morning to be seen by the judges – Jilly Goulden, John Burton-Race and Ed Bains. I brought them my spices to smell and talked to them about my kheema shepherd’s pie and Jilly was very positive indeed. She liked the sound of it and looked forward to trying it. Ed Bains said no, because he claimed that it was “fusion food”, which he does not like. I never mentioned the term “fusion”, knowing that it’s a bit passe, but also said that they’d had several shepherd’s pie-type entrants and had promised himself he would not let any more through. Well, okay, one yes, one no.

John Burton-Race I thought was going to say no. He didn’t seem all that keen, and Jilly was urging me to sell it to him more, which I tried, but he cut me short and said that he was going to give me a chance. And so I am through, and some time in June I will take part in the regional finals where I will get to cook my dish and it will be judged against one other dish from someone else. I think that bit will be televised.

The standard was very high and I’ll be very surprised if I get through the next round, but it’s still a fun thing to do.

In other news, my local paper interviewed me on Friday. Fame at last.

5 Responses to “Britain’s Best Dish”

  1. Richard Says:

    Congratulations – I’ll see you there… I haven’t got round to blogging about it yet, but I got through as well. Except I may be on holiday during the filming!

  2. 101things Says:

    Nice one. What is your dish? How did you find the judges?

  3. MoMac Says:

    Well done you!
    Fingers crossed for the next round.

    If you end up being the next Nigella or Jamie Oliver, I should like to offer you my skivvying services. I’ll even bring my own pinny.

  4. Richard Says:

    I’m doing a main course dish using pork, spices and red wine – John BR was a bit sceptical about the whole thing, but the others were fine – Jilly was particularly nice I thought. Will try to blog about it all soon… we could be up against each other!

  5. Riocaz Says:

    Well done on getting through!

    Sounds like Mr Baines s as up himself in real life, as he comes across on Telly.

    It’s not “fusion” as thats a new combination of styles and has only been around since the 70s… The English have been combining Indian spices and food into our own dishes for 150 years.

    I bet the jumped up twit, loves Kedgeree


Leave a Reply

