Sicilian Food

The Saturday market in Cefalu. The market had two lanes – one selling food, the other selling enormous knickers. Stalls and stalls of great big grannypants. I preferred the food.

Buckets of capers in Palermo market. I brought some home with me, they’re incredible.

Enormous melons. Heh.

A typical stall at Palermo market.

A butcher, with everything he needs in the world – good meat, a big knife, a wooden chopping board and a hungry dog.

Green beans!

The best meal I had – linguini alle vongole. It was so fresh and simple, it was beautiful.

Cows, having a bit of a roam around an old house in the Madonie mountains. This photo was taken from a moving van, hence the foreground blur.

And finally, because I can’t resist it, my engagement ring; the highlight of the trip.

4 Responses to “Sicilian Food”

  1. lynne Says:

    Huge congrats on your engagment, thanks for posting the pics, they are wonderful!šŸ™‚

  2. Java Says:

    I love seeing these pictures again. I’ve been bit by the travel bug so hard, but it’s impossible right now. I want to take Zack everywhere and show him the world!

    You really did a fantastic job on these pictures. Everything just looks gorgeous.

  3. Ros Says:

    Hi Fran,

    I found the link to your site through the BBC food chat rooms. I agree it is not at all fluffy, which is a very good thing indeed!

    Congratulations on your engagement. I hope it doesn’t slow down your blogging too much!šŸ˜‰

  4. Hunter Cashdollar Says:

    Some great pics. I’m getting hungry!

    Hunter Cashdollar


Leave a Reply

