Steak and Vegetables

steak dinner

A really simple dinner I made just for myself last night. It’s rump steak, brought to room temperature (meat doesn’t like being cooked from cold, it gets all tense), sprinkled with salt and pepper and fried for about 2 mins each side so it was still nice and pink in the middle. I let it rest for a few minutes after cooking.

The best thing about this dinner is that it tastes exactly of itself. It tastes of steak, spinach, carrots, babycorn and mangetout. It’s also low-fat and low-GI and took 10 whole minutes to cook.

It would be remiss of me if I didn’t admit a guilty secret – I didn’t prepare the veg. It was one of those packets of ready-prepared veg from the supermarket. I just chucked it in a pan. I am not ashamed, at least it’s proper veg and not, say, frozen potato waffles. It would have tasted much nicer if I had made it myself with proper market veg though.

One Response to “Steak and Vegetables”

  1. Acrylic brochure Holders Says:

    It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d without a doubt
    donate to this excellent blog! I guess for now i’ll settle for
    bookmarking and adding your RSS feed to my Google
    account. I look forward to brand new updates and will talk about this blog
    with my Facebook group. Chat soon!


Leave a Reply

