Fruit or Nut?

Green almonds

I was out for lunch and outside one of the Lebanese shops were these. They’re almonds! I’ve never seen them like this before so of course I had to buy some. They’ve just come into season apparently. What you do is, you split the outer layer and inside is the seed that will become an almond – it’s slightly gelantinous and a bit bitter and doesn’t really taste of almonds but it does have a refreshing quality and it’s fun to eat. Plus, it’s new! How lucky am I to have all this exciting food around me?

New food! I love new food!

6 Responses to “Fruit or Nut?”

  1. septemberfool Says:

    I hate to overreact, but I wouldn’t just pluck almonds off the tree like that – have you read Guns, Germs and Steel by Jared Diamond? He mentions how wild almonds (would the ones you ate be considered wild?) are poisonous: “Most wild almonds contain an intensely bitter chemical called amygdalin which breaks down to yield the poison cyanide.”

    I feel bad scaring you like that, and you *did* mention that they weren’t that bitter at all, but maybe you should just ask the shopkeepers to be sure.

  2. 101things Says:

    I didn’t pick them off the tree! They were outside the shop in a tray for sale. But thanks for worrying😉

    I am aware of the almond-cyanide link, but I’m not dead yet.

  3. septemberfool Says:

    Silly silly me. I forgot that you said you bought them when I saw the photo.

    BTW, would you happen to know any good lentil rcipes? You can just email me or leave a comment on my blog if you like.

  4. Iteki Says:

    If you get a hold of more you can make a fresh almond and apricot tart, you will thank me.

  5. Kate Milliken Says:

    why do I love almonds but can’t stand marzipan? It’s always been a mystery to me. I just loved the cyanide story. What a laugh!!

    K K Kate!!!!!!!!!!

  6. Kara Says:

    Hello! Love the site, but I just wanted to make sure that you know something – these premature almonds are eaten whole, you do not need to split them and just eat the little watery nut inside. You are supposed to eat the whole thing and put some salt on top of it – believe you me, you will be thankful for the info.🙂 they are soooo tasty. Hopefully you didn’t get ones that are too hard though, because then you can’t eat the whole thing, as I said, because it’s too hard. If they were, make sure you get softer ones next time!🙂 enjoy! and keep up with the excellent cooking!


Leave a Reply

