Beefsteak Pudding Result 2

Several people have asked me. Did the steak pudding actually taste any good? To which I can say yes, it did. The beef was tender and the suet crust was appropriately suet-y and tastes-good-so-it-must-be-bad-for-you. It was meaty and juicy and I was most chuffed with myself. As you can see from the picture, there was some rather watery gravy which may have put some (lesser) people off, but I assure you the pudding itself did not suffer.

Next time I will: use more salt in both the crust and the filling and add a bit more flour to thicken the gravy. Also: herbs. Thyme might do well. Something that can withstand long cooking. Maybe some dried bay.

Also, I’m totally excited because I want to cook this for my dad. My dad loves steak and kidney pudding so I can make it properly. with kidney and everything. And he eats those Frey Bentos pie-in-a-tin jobs and frankly, anything I make can only be an improvement on that. He’s going to be so impressed.

Posted in Mains. 1 Comment »

One Response to “Beefsteak Pudding Result 2”

  1. rachel Says:

    the cold circle of life is helped by a warm cup of java


Leave a Reply

