Low-Fat Fish Pie

fish pie

Fish pie is a bit of a struggle in my house because Mr B doesn’t like prawns or smoked haddock and will not countenance the inclusion of peas or hard boiled eggs. If it were up to me, I would include all those things. You, of course, can do if you wish. Instead I include spinach, which goes very nicely with fish, and have peas on the side.

This is a good low-fat version – no cream or cheese, but very tasty nevertheless.

Ingredients
Serves 4

About 700g mixed uncooked fish – choose from cod, haddock (smoked or unsmoked), Pollack, salmon, John Dory. Include prawns if you like them.
½ pint milk (skimmed milk for lower fat)
1 leek, chopped
1 small onion, chopped
A large bunch of spinach
2 tablespoons cornflour
A small handful of parsley, finely chopped
A knob of butter

1kg/2lbs floury potatoes like King Edwards or Desiree
Some more milk
Salt and pepper

The Cooking

First peel and potatoes and put them on to boil in some salted water. This should take about 15/20 minutes.

Meanwhile you need to poach the fish in the milk. In a non-stick pan, heat up the ½ pint of milk and the mixed fish (excepting prawns if already cooked) and let it simmer on a low heat for about 8 minutes or until the fish breaks up and flakes easily. Drain the fish, keeping the milk. Break up the fish into chunks – but be gentle, you don’t want to mash it up.

Put the oven on to pre-heat at 180C/360F.

In the same pan as you did the fish (you could use another pan, this just saves on washing up), melt the knob of butter and gently fry the leak and onion until they are soft but not browned (takes about 4 minutes).

Pour a little of the milk into a mug and mix it with the cornflour. Mix together the fish, leaks, onions and all the milk including the cornflour bit. Add a little salt and pepper and the parsley. Pour the mixture into your pie dish. Scatter the spinach on top of the mixture.

By now the potatoes should be done, so drain and mash them with a little milk (and butter if you like). Don’t make it too wet as it will absorb liquid from the pie filling. Once mashed, spoon it over the spinach-topped pie mixture, covering it evenly. Using a fork, drag the tines along the top of the potatoes in rows to make ridges – this is so that it crisps up nicely in the oven.

Pop the whole lot in the oven and in about 10 or 15 minutes the top will have hopefully gone a nice crispy brown. It’s ready! Serve with peas.

fish pie

18 Responses to “Low-Fat Fish Pie”

  1. Ginger Says:

    I’m with Mr B…peas on the side but not inside!

    We just recently made fish pie and it was lovely (took us a few attempts to get it right) but very rich…this looks like a good low-fat alternative.

  2. Zacharay Thackaray Says:

    mmmmm! Looks lovely :)

    x

  3. Margaret Says:

    I’m with Mr B on this with the exception that I like undyed smoked haddock in mine. I think the inclusion of spinach is an excellent idea.

  4. Emilyb Says:

    Hi, love your blog. I used your recipe as a base for my first fish pie tonight. A few changes. I didn’t poach the fish just threw in the sauce mix just prior to popping it all in the dish and cooked it a bit longer. To up the vegie content I threw in some peas( i too like them in not on the side) and chopped carrots. Finally although I came across your recipe while looking for low fat I finished it off with a sweet potato/ potato mash with a topping of cheddar cheese and crushed weeta-bix, sounds strange but its not bad at all. Not quite as healthy as I planned but my flatmate and I loved it!

  5. Sam Says:

    It looks wonderful. I’d prefer spinach I believe over peas. No one here but me would eat it however, so I’d have to make a very small version.

  6. Karen Says:

    This looks wonderful! I would never get my husband to ea it, of course, but it looks really great. He’s so friggin picky.

    I’m all for peas on the inside, btw. Bring ‘em on!

    -Karen

  7. Namrata Says:

    Sounds interesting – can you tell me what is leek?

  8. Viv Williams Says:

    Fish pie was great, but laughed my socks off at the Squirrel Roast, thought it was a joke at first, but hey two squirrels in my garden and no money in the wallet, could be a first!

  9. Alpha Newsroom Says:

    J’ai perdu mon toasty petits pains pourrait vous aider à me trouver eux?

  10. pearly Says:

    I definitely accept that and think you presented some interesting and important arguments. Of course, there are still issues which depend on your personal attitude towards Low-Fat Fish Pie 101 Things Every Cook Should Cook but still, thanks for your article. For the later, I would like to get some more contributions related to this subject and created in this well explaining language. Hopefully, I am not the only one giving you the regard for your blogging business, I will ensure this in a few days. So far, keep on working, I will surely come back.

  11. Assisted Living Tucson Says:

    certainly like your website however you have to test the spelling on quite a few of your posts. Several of them are rife with spelling issues and I find it very bothersome to tell the truth however I’ll surely come again again.

  12. Annie Brown Says:

    I agree with Assisted Living Tucson, spelling is very important….

  13. Rib Tours Says:

    The infamous Lloyd P. Provost & R. M. Sprout, Quality Progress [August 1996] who said the phrase Creative thinking should be viewed as an essential supplement to, though not a replacement for, critical thinking.

  14. Becca Says:

    Can you freeze the pie?
    Reply

    Leave a Reply

  15. car care cosmetics inc Says:

    I don’t even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was great. I do not know who you are but certainly you’re going to a famous
    blogger if you aren’t already ;) Cheers!

  16. diabetes type 2 cookbook Says:

    These are really great ideas in regarding blogging. You have touched some fastidious factors here.
    Any way keep up wrinting.

  17. best bagless Vacuum Cleaner Says:

    It has become a part of the kitchen activity today.

    As I am well and truly in the Dyson fan club, I am
    sincerely hoping it can — and it turns out to be as good
    as Dyson make it outt to be. This means that a
    family will purchase ten conventional vacuums in a forty year period at a cost of $3,000.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 90 other followers

