Minced Beef and Onion Hotpot

Minced beef and onion hotpot

This is an uncomplicated but delicious autumn and winter dinner. The nights are drawing in with astonishing rapidity and it’s the perfect time of year for your one-dish meat and potato combo.

I add ketchup and mustard to the filling, which is not very fancy but gives a pleasing tangyness to what might otherwise be a slightly bland dish.

Ingredients
Serves 3 or 4

450g minced beef
2 large potatoes
1 large onion
2 carrots
1 tbsp tomato puree and 1 tbsp ketchup, or 2 tbsp ketchup
1 tsp mustard. I use dijon mustard.
Worcestershire sauce
A little butter
Salt and pepper

The Cooking

Pre-heat the oven to 180c/350F.

Peel and slice the potatoes, but not too thinly otherwise they’ll turn into crisps. I don’t like giving exact measurements, but they want to be about half a centimetre thick. Put them in some water, bring to the boil and simmer for about 5 minutes. While they’re simmering peel and chop the onion and the carrots fairly small and set aside. When the potatoes are done, drain them and set them aside too.

Now, I admit I do faff about a little bit here. I thoroughly brown the mince, set it aside, then cook the onion and carrots in the same pan, then add the whole thing back together. But there is a good reason for this. You want to cook the meat on a high heat because if it’s not hot enough the meat will release all its water without it evaporating and rather than frying the mince, it stews in its own juices, which makes it rubbery and chewy. It also means that the onions and carrots will fry in the fat from the meat, so you don’t have to use any more oil and they’ll take on the flavour of the beef.

So. On a HIGH heat, fry the mince in a non-stick pan until it’s well browned – perhaps even crispy in places if you like it that way (I do). Then tip out the meat and set it aside. Turn down the heat and add the chopped onion and carrot. Fry them for about 5 minutes until the onion is soft but not burnt. Now re-add the meat and the mustard, tomatoe puree and/or ketchup, a few splashes of worcestershire sauce, salt and pepper. Fry it for a couple more minutes, stirring well so that the flavour is evenly distributed.

Put the meat mixture into the oven dish and top with the sliced potato, overlapping so that it’s evenly covered. Sprinkle with a pinch of salt and dot it evenly with butter. You don’t need loads, just enough to moisten the potato.

Now it goes in the oven and you go and have a sit down for half an hour. After 30 minutes or so, the potato will be nicely browned. Serve it hot – it’s so good. I had mine with mangetout.

hotpot

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank

31 Responses to “Minced Beef and Onion Hotpot”

  1. zapngo Says:

    I added a little flour when I was frying the beef and then about a cup of stock at the end to make it a little “saucier”. It worked. I also over cooked the potatoes, which didn’t seem to matter.

  2. Frank Says:

    Thankyou going to cook this soon

  3. maria Says:

    it looks so tasty i am going to do it for tonights dinner i just hope it comes out as nice as it looks. looking forward to cooking this meal

  4. carly Says:

    good base recipe, i then add little bit of stock, can of beans and some bay leaves, works a treat!

  5. Anonymous Says:

    B E A U TIFUL! I ADDED CHEESE WITH MINE AND A LITTLE BROWN SAUCE TO MIXTURE ….

  6. red Says:

    discusting ierrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

  7. Cheryl Says:

    I added a little chopped swede and half a chopped green chilli plus half a teaspoon of sugar as I had no worcestershire sauce and it’s the best one I’ve cooked yet :)

  8. Cheryl Says:

    no cheese though – not a big fan of adding cheese to things

  9. latz Says:

    yummmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm the best

  10. longy Says:

    Can’t wait to cook this tomorrow, gonna add carrots and swede and possibly peas to my mince, been looking everywhere for a recipe without cheese, thanks

  11. Mummyto2 Says:

    cooking this for my very fussy otherhalf 2moro and my two young children who eat almost anything!lol
    I’m sure it will go down a treat sounds yummy!!:)

  12. shellanandy Says:

    i am using my left over beef stew gravy and veggies with some added mince, then am covering it with potatoes and a little cheese watch this space :D

  13. Mummyof3 Says:

    This sounds so lovely so I am going to try it tonight :) have 2 fussy boys so hoping this will go down well :) x

  14. Nissan thermos review Says:

    Magnificent publish, very informative. I ponder why the opposite experts of this sector do not understand this. You should proceed your writing. I’m sure, you’ve a great readers’ base already!|What’s Taking place i am new to this, I stumbled upon this I’ve discovered It positively useful and it has helped me out loads. I’m hoping to contribute & aid other users like its aided me. Good job.

  15. lounatic83 Says:

    Making this now but adapting it a little. Using carrot swede new potatoes onion AND mushroom in the filling to get as many veggies into my daughter as possible lol.

  16. lisa Says:

    Wow this is amazing. My stepmom always did the best and I wanted to know how to do it. This recipe is easy to follow and very easy to understand :) thanks so much :) xx

  17. projectnursery.com Says:

    Have you ever considered creating an ebook or guest authoring on other blogs?
    I have a blog based on the same topics you discuss and would really like to have you share
    some stories/information. I know my subscribers would appreciate your work.

    If you’re even remotely interested, feel free to shoot me an email.

  18. Maik Says:

    Simply want to say your article is as amazing.
    The clarity for your put up is simply great and that i could assume you are knowledgeable
    on this subject. Fine with your permission allow me to seize your feed to stay
    up to date with forthcoming post. Thanks 1,000,000 and please keep up the enjoyable work.

  19. start trading binary options Says:

    I blog often and I truly appreciate your information.
    The article has truly peaked my interest. I will bookmark your site and keep checking for new information about once a week.
    I opted in for your Feed too.

  20. http://www.beckett.com Says:

    Hi there it’s me, I am also visiting this site daily, this site is genuinely good and the viewers are in fact sharing pleasant thoughts.

  21. trend trading software Says:

    You can use the stock prices to track earnings. Short-term market behavior is generally based on
    fear, enthusiasm, news, and rumors. Long-term market behavior is mainly comprised of company earnings.
    These earnings can be used to determine whether or not
    a stock’s price will rise, drop or go completely sideways.
    __________________________________________________________________________

    I study trend trading software

  22. Steam Wallet Hack Says:

    Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is a really well written
    article. I will be sure to bookmark it and return to read more of your useful information.
    Thanks for the post. I’ll certainly comeback.

  23. How To Look Attractive Says:

    If all of these recommendations are followed and the recommendations of
    foods not to eat are followed, the odds of
    a healthy pregnancy are greatly improved. Disconnecting this 20 or
    24-pin connector will cause the green light to turn off.
    The most common place that people ground the amp is by running
    a wire to one of the bolts that holds down the front seat.

  24. bn.gsnote.org Says:

    The major complaint that was issued was by a reviewer who thought that the product was a bit too pricey.
    Being Lego there is of course a construction element to all the games and this is a great way to
    get younger fans into game play beyond computers.
    It is also a must to have a player and star wars disc, right size of projector screen for the
    venue, multimedia projector, and remember also, do not forget good
    ventilation.

  25. jplay3r Says:

    Thanks!!! Just cooked it and it was really nice :-) try using baby onions, sweet corn, red peppers, garlic and mushrooms to the mix then top with potato and sweet potato. Cooked it for the misses and got a smile on her chops

  26. fifa 14 key generator download Says:

    Everyone loves what you guys are up too. Such clever work and reporting!
    Keep up the fantastic works guys I’ve incorporated you guys to our blogroll.

  27. http://www.gamezebo.com/ Says:

    I’m truly enjoying the design and layout of your site.
    It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more pleasant for me to come here and visit more
    often. Did you hire out a developer to create your theme?
    Excellent work!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 85 other followers

